Paralympic Games: Indian shooters and archers arrive in Tokyo


India’s largest group of para-athletes, consisting of shooters, archers and swimmers, arrived in Tokyo on Tuesday morning for the Paralympics.

Twenty-eight members of the Indian contingent, including athletes and officials, left for the Paralympics on Monday. Upon their arrival in Tokyo, the members of the Indian contingent expressed their happiness.

“Our biggest prize of 17 para-athletes consisting of shooters, archers, swimmers and javelin throwers has arrived safely at Tokyo Airport. Let’s hear what they have to say before heading to the #Paralympic village! ” SAIMedia tweeted.

The Paralympic Games will take place from August 24 to September 5. The shooting contingent has 17 members including 10 shooters. It is the largest shooting contingent the country has ever sent to the Para Games.

Manish Narwal, Deepender Singh, Singhraj, Swaroop Mahavir Unhalkar, Deepak Saini, Sidhartha Babu, Akash, Rahul Jhakar, Rubina Francis and Avani Lekhara are the Indian athletes who qualified for parachute shooting at Tokyo 2020.

Manish Narwal, Rubina Francis and Rahul Jakhar not only qualified but also set world records in qualifying tournaments.

Avani Lekhara was in amazing shape and qualified for all four wheelchair rifle events.

Singhraj has shown consistent form at the recently held World Cups in Peru and the United Arab Emirates, while Rahul Jakhar, Deepender Singh, Sidharth Babu, Swaroop Unhalkar and Akash have good international exposure and have also proven their mettle at the highest level.

No less than 54 Indian athletes will compete in sports disciplines such as archery, athletics (athletics), badminton, swimming, shooting and weightlifting.

Meanwhile, discus thrower Vinod Kumar and javelin thrower Tek Chand are among five Indian athletes who will attend the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Paralympic Games. Rio 2016 gold medalist Thangavelu Mariyappan will be India’s flag bearer at the opening ceremony.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.